Coaching Winners

Watching our grandson at his tennis lesson made me realize how we learn best. I couldn’t see well enough to distinguish our grandson but I recognized his voice and could hear how the coach interacted with the kids. The coach made it fun, kept the balls flying, gave the kids tips and praised them for their successes. But he never scolded, berated or criticized them. You could tell the coach loved the kids. He called them by name and acknowledged their improvement.  It seems to me that we tend to berate ourselves as well as our children and grandchildren when we make mistakes. The consequence is that learning is inhibited rather than re-enforced.  We have to be free to make mistakes and learn from them. We do that best with no criticism.  Tips are good. I wish I had known this forty-five years ago when I started raising my kids. But, better late than never!

Leave a Reply

