Finding Peace

A dear friend and her husband became upset with me this week because of a miscommunication. I felt horrible about it. It threw me for a curve.

I tried working through it, but when I woke up the third day still unable to stop it from highjacking my peace, I took our dog Charlie for a walk and started asking the deep questions. What is going on? Why can’t I let this go?

Then it hit me. This incident reinforced one of my deeply held beliefs – that I’m not enough. Like the Balrog in the caves of Moria, my old nemesis had reared its ugly head. I thought I’d conquered it, but like Tolkien’s Gandalf in Lord of the Rings, I’ll have to fight my Balrog on every level till I can slay it for good.

Here’s how I handled it. I went for a 20-minute walk, in the country, laughing a deep belly laugh like a crazy fool. Sometimes, it turned into crying, but that’s okay too. I laughed for 15 minutes, straight, then walked quietly for the last five minutes.

Laughter yoga, as it’s called, is laughing for no reason except for the uplift it brings, for an extended period of time. It strikes where the false beliefs hide and restores equilibrium. I returned feeling rejuvenated!

This relates to blindness in a round-about way. We can’t see what’s hidden inside us until something exposes it. It’s painful to realize that your life-long beliefs are false. We resent being told we’re wrong, even when the belief itself is a cruel one, like mine was. It’s easier, we think, to keep our blinders on. But then we can never move on and realize the joy life can offer without such limiting beliefs. Sometimes, we’d rather remain blind.

Serendipitously, our mentor Anne Rose Hart had sent us a link last week to a video that discussed this very issue, coming to grips with false beliefs that are destroying our lives. It was fresh on my mind, fortunately. Here’s a link to Marisa Peet‘s YouTube video. I also liked her Ted Talk on YouTube. Check it out.

For more info on Laughter Yoga, google it. Yes, it’s legit. Yes, it works!

If this post hits home, may I ask a favor? Would you please follow me and send me some feedback!

Leave a Reply

